Bite The Book

Archeology of Taste

Taras Grescoe

Bite The Book

Archeology of Taste

Taras Grescoe

4:30pm

Sunday, October 1

Studio Theatre

60 mins

With today’s challenges of food production and globalisation, many are looking to a surprising place to safeguard the future: the past. In the tradition of Michael Pollan and Anthony Bourdain, Taras Grescoe offers an exciting and globe-trotting account of ancient cuisines and why reviving the foods of the past is the key to saving the future. With references to Ancient Roman fish sauce to Aztec caviar to the long-thought-extinct silphium, The Lost Supper is a deep dive into the latest frontier of global gastronomy. Grescoe sets out a provocative case: in order to save these foods, he argues, we’ve got to eat them.

Moderated by Mark Schatzker.

This event will be followed by a book signing.

Conversation
Food

How to attend

$69.99

Students and youth save up to 50% on passes.

With today’s challenges of food production and globalisation, many are looking to a surprising place to safeguard the future: the past. In the tradition of Michael Pollan and Anthony Bourdain, Taras Grescoe offers an exciting and globe-trotting account of ancient cuisines and why reviving the foods of the past is the key to saving the future. With references to Ancient Roman fish sauce to Aztec caviar to the long-thought-extinct silphium, The Lost Supper is a deep dive into the latest frontier of global gastronomy. Grescoe sets out a provocative case: in order to save these foods, he argues, we’ve got to eat them.

Moderated by Mark Schatzker.

This event will be followed by a book signing.

Conversation
Food

Featured Authors

Taras Grescoe is the author of seven nonfiction books and a widely read commentator on the interplay of food, travel, and the environment. His journalism has been published in many of the world's leading newspapers and magazines, including the New York Times, the Guardian and National Geographic. He lives in Montreal, Quebec.

Read more about Taras Grescoe

4:30pm

Sunday, October 1

Studio Theatre

60 mins

How to attend

$69.99

Students and youth save up to 50% on passes.

What to read

The Lost Supper: Searching for the Future of Food in the Flavors of the Past by ,
TIFA 2023

More events on October 1

Free

A Hockey Super Six Extravaganza

Kevin Sylvester

Sunday, October 1 at 1:00pm

Conversation

A Theory of Everything

M.G. Vassanji

Sunday, October 1 at 11:30am

Free

All You Need is Love

Syrus Marcus Ware and Alannah Fricker

Sunday, October 1 at 1:30pm

Conversation

Archeology of Taste

Taras Grescoe

Sunday, October 1 at 4:30pm

Panel Discussion

Artificial Intelligence & the Author

Sean Michaels, Tom Froh, and Paris Marx

Sunday, October 1 at 6:30pm

Conversation

Breaking Bread

Jean E. Pendziwol and Cristina Quintero

Sunday, October 1 at 11:00am

Free

Crumpets & Cornbread & Challah, Oh My!

Cristina Quintero and Sarah Gonzales

Sunday, October 1 at 1:00pm

Free

Crumpets & Cornbread & Challah, Oh My!

Cristina Quintero and Sarah Gonzales

Sunday, October 1 at 3:00pm

Conversation

Culinary Cravings

Bill Buford

Sunday, October 1 at 6:30pm

Conversation

Dislocations

David Bergen and Blaise Ndala

Sunday, October 1 at 5:00pm

Free

Frosty Frozen Fun

Jean E. Pendziwol

Sunday, October 1 at 1:30pm

Conversation

Gone Girls

Michael Melgaard

Sunday, October 1 at 12:00pm

Conversation

How to Fail As A Popstar

Vivek Shraya

Sunday, October 1 at 6:30pm

Exhibition

Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada

Sunday, October 1 at 10:30am

Free

Join the Party

Yolanda T. Marshall

Sunday, October 1 at 3:00pm

To top