The Lost Supper: Searching for the Future of Food in the Flavors of the Past

Taras Grescoe

Greystone Books

The Lost Supper: Searching for the Future of Food in the Flavors of the Past

Taras Grescoe

Greystone Books

For fans of Michael Pollan, Anthony Bourdain, Mark Bittman, and Bee Wilson

By an award-winning writer who has been widely acclaimed for his vivid writing on food and the environment including in The National Geographic

Captures a growing food movement and reaction to the standard American diet. The book profiles people who are responding to the concern over hormones and chemicals in foods by returning to the flavors that sustained humans for thousands of years. Chefs, food producers, and everyday people are creating diverse, sustainable ways of eating by looking to the past.

Access to ancient foods is an Indigenous right. The author profiles Indigenous groups who are reviving and reclaiming lost ingredients from their pre-colonization diets.

Culinary diversity. The lack of diversity on our plates is a growing concern for us and the planet. Reviving ancient foods is a key step towards diversifying our world.

Amazing, delicious, and rare food experiences: the author travels the world to taste Aztec caviar made from the eggs of a water-dwelling insect, ancient sourdough bread last baked by Egyptian pharaohs, and more tantalizing dishes.

Places visited in the book include: Turkey, Mexico, England, Georgia (US), Spain, Italy, Montreal (Canada), Vancouver Island (Canada)

photo of Taras Grescoe
Taras Grescoe is the author of seven nonfiction books and a widely read commentator on the interplay of food, travel, and the environment. His journalism has been published in many of the world's leading newspapers and magazines, including the New York Times, the Guardian and National Geographic.

Read more about Taras Grescoe

To top