Lee Maracle

Lee Maracle

2018 Prize Winner

This year’s Harbourfront Festival Prize, which includes a $10,000 cash prize, will be awarded to celebrated Canadian Indigenous author Lee Maracle. A member of the Stó:lō Nation, Lee Maracle is a critically acclaimed author and scholar, a recipient of the Order of Canada, and currently teaches at the University of Toronto, First Nation’s House and at the Centre for Indigenous Theatre.

A jury composed of past Harbourfront Festival Prize recipients, Joseph Kertes and Miriam Toews, along with Toronto International Festival of Authors Director Geoffrey E. Taylor, was tasked with awarding the 2018 Prize to Maracle.

Maracle will be presented with the Prize during the Toronto International Festival of Authors on October 22 at 8pm, before the Festival Celebration: GGBooks event at the Fleck Dance Theatre.

About the Prize

Established in 1984, the Harbourfront Festival Prize (C$10,000) is presented annually in recognition of an author's contribution to the Canadian literature community, based on the merits of their own published work and/or the time they have invested cultivating the next generation of voices. The recipient is selected by a jury process and presented with the Prize during the Toronto International Festival of Authors every October.

Past Winners

2017 Joseph Kertes

2016 Miriam Toews

2015 Avie Bennett

2014 Margaret MacMillan

2013 Alice Munro

2012 Austin Clarke

2011 Seth

2010 Peter Robinson

2009 Helen Humphreys

2008 Wayson Choy

2007 Christopher Dewdney

2006 Dionne Brand

2005 Guy Vanderhaeghe

2004 Jane Urquhart

2003 Linda Spalding

2002 Paul Quarrington

2001 Daniel David Moses

2000 Victor Coleman

1999 Matt Cohen

1998 Marty Gervais

1997 Ken Gass

1996 Timothy Findley

1995 Douglas George Fetherling

1994 M.G. Vassanji

1993 Graeme Gibson

1992 Alberto Manguel

1991 Nicole Brossard

1990 Howard Engel

1989 Tomson Highway

1988 Michael Ondaatje

1987 Barry Callaghan

1986 Margaret Atwood

1985 John Robert Colombo

1984 Dennis Lee