Rabindranath Maharaj is the author of five novels and three short story collections. His last novel, The Amazing Absorbing Boy, won both the Toronto Book Award and the Trillium Fiction Prize. Previous books were nominated for various awards, including the Commonwealth Writers’ Prize, The Chapters First Novel Award, and The Rogers Fiction Award. In January 2013, he was awarded the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal. He was most recently the Writer in residence at the University of New Brunswick. Maharaj resides in Ajax, Ontario. His new novel, Adjacentland, will be published by Wolzak and Wynn in May 2018.

Events Rabindranath Maharaj was involved in

  • Luminous Ink: Writers on Writing in Canada

    Wednesday, May 2, 2018 - 7:30 PM

    The editors of the Luminous Ink: Writers on Writing in Canada anthology (Dionne Brand, Tessa McWatt and Rabindranath Maharaj) will discuss the book and what it means to be a writer in Canada with moderator Marc Côté.


  • Toronto Book Awards Celebration

    Sunday, November 1, 2015 - 2:00 PM

    Austin Clarke, Charlotte Gray, Helen Humphreys,Rabindranath Maharaj, Rosemary Sullivan, Guy Vanderhaeghe and Richard B. Wright discuss their Toronto Book Award–winning books at the unveiling of the Toronto Book Garden.