Good writing knows no boundaries.

Since 2008, the International Visitors (IV) Programme has generated exposure for the Canadian publishing industry and strengthened links with its international counterparts. The IV Programme’s aim is to increase visibility and marketability of Canadian literature abroad as well as facilitate cultural dialogue between international publishing industry professionals.

The IV Programme welcomes a select group of international publishing leaders to Canada. Modelled on similar successful programmes in Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Israel, Japan, New Zealand and the UK, the IV Programme connects influential foreign publishing professionals with Canadian authors, agents, editors and publishers, and even the broader reading public. The Programme also operates as an informal rights fair, providing Canadian authors, publishers and agents an unprecedented opportunity in securing international rights and distribution deals.

The IV Programme centres around the annual Toronto International Festival of Authors (TIFA) taking place every October. International participants benefit from networking at one of the most influential literature Festivals in the world and are exposed to the Canadian book world at its celebratory best at a time when many of our nation’s finest talents are gathered in one city.

To learn more about the IV Programme, click here. For a list of our IV alumni, click here.

The 12th edition of the IV Programme (October 27 – November 1, 2019) will take place during the 40th anniversary edition the Toronto International Festival of Authors (October 24 – November 3, 2019).


IV Keynote Presentation

This year’s keynote is THE ALTERNATE SUCCESS STORY: The Power of Independent Publishing and the 2019 IV Keynote Speaker will be Graywolf Press’ Director and Publisher Fiona McCrae. The event will take place on October 28 at 3:30pm at Harbourfront Centre. The event is free to attend and open to the public.

Register Here.

2019 IV Participants

For full bios of the 2019 IV Programme participants, click here.

Canadian Editorial Fellowship

Janice Zawerbny, Senior Editor at HarperCollins Publishers

IV Fellows

Michal Alenowicz, Owner & Translator, Wiatr od Morza (Poland)

  • Supported by Konsulat Generalny Rzeczypospolitej Polskiej w Toronto

Valerie Brandes, Founder and Publisher, Jacaranda Books Art Music Ltd (U.K.)

Alison Callahan, Vice President and Executive Editor of Scout Press at Simon and Schuster (U.S.)

Patricia Anne Campbell, Marketing Assistant , Kegedonce (ON)

Chris Fischbach, Publisher, Coffee House Press (U.S.)

Hannah Nuspliger-Fosh, Literary Agent, Liepman Agency (Switzerland)

Sharmaine Lovegrove, Publisher, Dialogue Books (U.K.)

Sylvie Mouchès, Head of Foreign Rights, Liana Levi (France)

  • Supported by Toronto Cultural Office of the French Embassy in Canada

Katharina Picandet, Editor and Rights Manager, Edition Nautilus (Germany)

Dominique Pleimling, Editorial Director, Eichborn Verlag (Germany)

Piero Salabè, Editor, Hanser Verlag (Germany)

Margo Shickmanter, Editor, Doubleday, Penguin Random House (U.S.)

Annette Weber, DuMont (Germany)

Distinguished Guests

Olga Baykova, Literary Agent, The Van Lear Agency (Russia)

Myriam Caron-Belzile, Editorial Director, Éditions XYZ (QC)

Stéphane Cormier, Co-Managing Director and Director of Marketing, Éditions Prise de parole (QC)

Alanna Feldman, Owner, Alanna Feldman Scouting (U.S.)

Lyndsey Fineran, Literature Festival Programme and Commissions Manager, The Times and The Sunday Times Cheltenham Literature Festival (U.K.)

David Forrer, Agent, InkWell Management (U.S.)

Ioannis Kalkounos, Programme Manager, Edinburgh International Book Festival (UK)

John Parsley, Editor in Chief/VP, Dutton and Plume, Penguin Random House (U.S.)

Sooyun Yum, Assistant Manager, Literature Translation Institute of Korea (Korea)

Canadian Delegates

Kateri Akiwenzie-Damm, Founder and Managing Editor, Kegedonce Press (ON)

Jill McConkey, Acquisitions Editor, University of Manitoba Press (MB)

Garry Thomas Morse, Editor, Portage & Main Press/HighWater Press (MB)

Natasha Slack, Operations Manager, Theytus books (B.C.)

Kevin Williams, President, Publisher, Sales and Marketing Coordinator, Talonbooks (B.C.)


International Visitors (IV) Programme Committee

Iris Tupholme (Chair), Senior Vice President and Executive Publisher, HarperCollins Publishers Ltd.
Erin Balser, Producer, CBC Books
Gillian Fizet, Executive Director, Canada FBM2020
Carolyn Forde, Senior Agent, Transatlantic Agency
Maria Golikova, Managing Editor, House of Anansi Press
Jen Knoch, Senior Editor, ECW Press
Hazel Millar, Co-publisher, Book*Hug Press
Jay MillAr, Co-publisher, Book*Hug Press
Eirini Moschaki, Development Coordinator, Toronto International Festival of Authors
Christine Saratsiotis, Deputy Director, Toronto International Festival of Authors
Deborah Sun de la Cruz, Assistant Editor, Penguin Random House Canada
Samantha Swenson, Editor, Penguin Random House Canada Young Readers
Geoffrey E. Taylor, Director, Toronto International Festival of Authors
Synora Van Drine, Sales Manager at Portage & Main Press
Dan Wells, Publisher, Biblioasis


The IV Programme is gratefully supported by:

       Government of Canada logo