Saturday, November 2, 2013 - 8:00 PM
Special Event: Festivals

Fleck Dance Theatre

207 Queens Quay West
Toronto M5J 1A7
Cost: $25/$20 Supporters

IFOA pays tribute to Alice Munro, a Canadian literary icon. After a celebrated career as one of Canada’s most beloved, internationally recognized and award-winning authors, Alice Munro announced her retirement in June 2013. On November 2, IFOA will host a “who’s-who” of Canada’s literary community, including authors Margaret Drabble, Alistair MacLeod, Colum McCann, Miriam Toews and Jane Urquhart, close colleagues and family members, as they present readings of Munro’s work.

Join us for the special opportunity to celebrate the immense achievements of one of our greatest authors. This event will be hosted by Douglas Gibson, Alice Munro’s editor for almost 40 years.


  • Margaret Drabble

    Margaret Drabble

    Margaret Drabble became a Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire in 2008 for her contributions to contemporary English literature. She is the author of The Sea Lady, The Seven Sisters, The Peppered Moth and The Needle’s Eye, among other novels. She wrote biographies of Arnold Bennett and Angus Wilson, and edited two editions of The Oxford Companion to English Literature. Drabble presents The Pure Gold Baby. Jessica Speight is on the cusp of a promising academic career in 1960s London, when a relationship with her married professor leaves her the single mother of a darling—but very unusual—daughter.

  • Douglas Gibson

    Douglas Gibson

    Douglas Gibson worked as an editor and publisher from 1968 until he retired from McClelland & Stewart in 2009. His Douglas Gibson Books was Canada’s first editorial imprint and lives on today. He is the author of a book of memoirs, Stories About Storytellers.

  • Alistair MacLeod

    Alistair MacLeod

    Alistair MacLeod has published two internationally acclaimed collections of short stories: The Lost Salt Gift of Blood and As Birds Bring Forth the Sun. MacLeod’s first novel, No Great Mischief, was published to great critical acclaim and was on national bestseller lists for more than a year. The novel won the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, the Dartmouth Book Award for Fiction, the Thomas Raddall Atlantic Fiction Award, The Trillium Award for Fiction, the CAA-MOSAID Technologies Inc. Award for Fiction and at the Canadian Booksellers Association Libris Awards, MacLeod won for Fiction Book of the Year and Author of the Year.  

  • Colum McCann

    Colum McCann

    Colum McCann is the author of two story collections and six novels, including the highly lauded Let the Great World Spin. His work has been published in over 35 languages and his accolades include the National Book Award, the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award, the Pushcart Prize, the Rooney Prize and an Oscar nomination for his short film, Everything in This Country Must. McCann presents his Man Booker Prize-longlisted novel TransAtlantic, which fictionalizes the lives of three historical figures to create a profound meditation on identity and history.

  • Miriam Toews

    Miriam Toews is the author of five previous bestselling novels: Summer of My Amazing LuckA Boy of Good BreedingA Complicated Kindness (Canada Reads 2006, Canada Reads Canadian Bestseller of the Decade 2010), The Flying Troutmans, and Irma Voth, and one work of non-fiction, Swing Low: A Life.  She is a winner of the Governor General’s Award for Fiction, the Libris Award for Fiction Book of the Year, the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, and the Writers Trust Marian Engel/Timothy Findley Award. She lives in Toronto.