Saturday, November 1, 2014 - 4:00 PM
: Festivals

Brigantine Room

235 Queens Quay West
Toronto M5J 2G8
Cost: $18/$15 supporters/FREE students & youth 25 and under

Three award-winning writers weigh in on the WWI Canadian experience, both on the homefront and across the ocean. Charlotte Gray hosts and moderates.

This event is part of 2014’s Festival focus, Remembering the Story: IFOA@35 Remembers the Great War, a programme featuring works that explore the societal changes in Canada and across the world around WWI.

Remembering the Story logo


  • Jack "J.L." Granatstein

    Jack Granatstein writes on 20th Century Canadian history. He has been described as “the most prolific Canadian historian of his generation” with more than 75 titles to his credit. He was born in Toronto in 1939. He attended RMC and Duke University, served in the Canadian Army, then joined the History Department at York University. He was instrumental in creating the new home for the Canadian War Museum in Ottawa, where he was Director and CEO from 1998 to 2000. He is co-curator of the Museum’s Hundred Days 1918 exhibit. Granatstein’s many books include: The Greatest Victory: Canada’s One Hundred Days, 1918; The Oxford Companion to Canadian Military History; and Who Killed Canadian History?

  • David Macfarlane

    David Macfarlane's novel Summer Gone, was shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize. His Newfoundland family memoir, The Danger Tree: Memory, War, and the Search for a Family's Past, was greeted with extraordinary international acclaim. His most recent novel, The Figures of Beauty, won the Bressani Literary Prize. During the past year, in collaboration with Douglas Cameron, Macfarlane has co-created The Door You Came In, a two-man performance of music and text based on the stories of The Danger Tree. It will be performed throughout Newfoundland in the summer of 2016.    

  • Michael Winter

    Michael Winter is the author of numerous acclaimed novels, including The Architects are Here, which was longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, and The Death of Donna Whalen, which was nominated for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize and the Commonwealth Writers' Prize. He is also the recipient of the Writers' Trust Notable Author Award. Winter presents his non-fiction debut, Into the Blizzard: Walking the Fields of the Newfoundland Dead, a uniquely gripping account of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment who were all but annihilated 100 years ago during the Battle of the Somme in World War I.