Showing events for:
Showing event types: Author appearance; Book club; Courses & workshops; Interview; Keynote; Meet and Greet; Panel Discussion; Reading; Round table; Special Event
Wednesday, October 28, 2015 - 7:30 PM
Special Event: Festival

Brigantine Room

235 Queens Quay West
Toronto M5J 2G8
Cost: $18/$15 supporters/FREE students & youth

The Writers’ Trust is one of the largest literary prize-giving organizations in the country, now annually awarding more than $250,000 to Canadian writers.

For the seventh consecutive year, IFOA is proud to present the works nominated for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize. Join André Alexis, Elizabeth Hay, Pamela Mordecai, Russell Smith and John Vaillant. Shani Mootoo hosts.

The winner of the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize will be announced on November 3, 2015.




  • Elizabeth Hay

    Elizabeth Hay’s novel, Late Nights on Air, won the Scotiabank Giller Prize and has been a national bestseller. Her other works include A Student of Weather (finalist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize and the Ottawa Book Award), Garbo Laughs (winner of the Ottawa Book Award and a finalist for the Governor General’s Award) and Small Change (stories). In 2002, she received the prestigious Marian Engel Award. Hay presents His Whole Life, which was shortlisted for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize. It is a captivating and unconventional coming of age story set in mid-1990s Quebec.

  • Shani Mootoo

    Shani Mootoo was born in Ireland and grew up in Trinidad. She is a visual artist, video maker and fiction writer. Her novels include Moving Forward Sideways Like a Crab, longlisted for the Scotia Bank Giller Prize, shortlisted for the Lambda Award; Valmiki’s Daughter, longlisted for the Scotia Bank Giller Prize; He Drown She in the Sea, longlisted for the Dublin IMPAC Award, and Cereus Blooms at Night, shortlisted for the Giller Prize, The Chapters First Novel Award, The Ethel Wilson Book Prize, and longlisted for the Man Booker Prize.

  • Pamela Mordecai

    Pamela Mordecai was born in Jamaica. She has published five collections of poetry and an anthology of short fiction. She has also written many textbooks and edited or co-edited groundbreaking anthologies of Caribbean writing. Her poetry for children is widely anthologized. Her poems have been shortlisted for the Canada Writes CBC Poetry Prize and the Bridport Prize (U.K.). She is the recipient of the Institute of Jamaica’s Centenary and Bronze Musgrave Medals, the Vic Reid Award for Children’s Writing, and the Burla Award. Mordecai presents Red Jacket, a rich and compelling tale about the agony of being made to feel different and the elusiveness of belonging. Red Jacket is nominated for the 2015 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize award.  

  • Russell Smith

    Russell Smith is one of Canada’s funniest and nastiest writers. His previous novels, including How Insensitive and Girl Crazy, are records of urban frenzy and exciting underworlds. He writes a provocative weekly column on the arts in The Globe and Mail and teaches in the MFA programme at the University of Guelph. Smith presents his latest collection of short stories, Confidence, which was shortlisted for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize. It shows a darker side of urban dwellers, including mommy bloggers, PhD students and experimental filmmakers.

  • John Vaillant

    John Valliant's first book, The Golden Spruce, was a #1 national bestseller, winner of the Governor General's Literary Award for Non-Fiction, the Pearson Writer's Trust Non-Fiction Award and the Roderick Haig Brown Regional Prize. The Tiger was a #1 national bestseller, a Canada Reads selection, a Globe and Mail Best Book, and won the BC National Award for Canadian Non-Fiction, the Prix Bouvier, the Sigurd Olson Nature Writing Award, the Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize, the CBA Libris Award for Non-Fiction Book of the Year and the CBC Bookie Award for Best Overall Book. Vaillant is also the recipient of the 2014 Windham Campbell Prize for Non-Fiction. He has written for The New Yorker, The Atlantic, Outside, National Geographic and The Walrus, among other publications. Vaillant presents The Jaguar's Children, a haunting and exquisitely written novel about the repercussions of global inequity, human indecency and an individual’s choices in the face of despair. The Jaguar's Children is a 2015 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize finalist.