Wednesday, October 29, 2014 - 7:30 PM
Special Event: Festivals

The Brigantine Room-Bill Boyle Artport

235 Queens Quay West
Toronto M5J 2G8
Cost: $18/$15 Supporters

The Writers’ Trust is one of the largest literary prize-giving organizations in the country, now annually awarding more than $240,500 to Canadian writers.14 Rogers Writers' Trust

For the sixth consecutive year, IFOA is proud to present the works nominated for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize. Author Helen Humphreys hosts.


  • Steven Galloway

    Steven Galloway is the author of Finnie Walsh, Ascension and the bestselling novel The Cellist of Sarajevo. He lives with his wife and two young daughters in British Columbia, and teaches creative writing at UBC and SFUH. Galloway presents his latest novel, The Confabulist, a brilliant story about fame and ambition that uses the sudden death of Harry Houdini to weave a magical tale of intrigue, love and illusion. The Confabulist is a finalist for this year's Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize.

  • Helen Humphreys

    Helen Humphreysmost recent novel, The Evening Chorus, was nominated for a Governor General's Award and was a national bestseller. Her critically acclaimed memoir, Nocturne, was a finalist for the Trillium Book Award. Previous novels include Coventry, a New York Times Editors' Choice, a Globe and Mail Best Book of the Year, and a finalist for the Trillium Book Award; Afterimage, which won the Rogers Writers' Trust Prize for fiction; Leaving Earth, which won the Toronto Book Award; and The Lost Garden, which was a Canada Reads selection. The recipient of the Harbourfront Festival Prize for literary excellence, Humphreys lives in Kingston, Ontario. She presents The Ghost Orchard.

  • K.D. Miller

    K.D. Miller is the author of two previous short story collections (Give me Your Answer and Litany on a Time of Plague), a novel (Brown Dwarf), and an essay collection, Holy Writ. Her work All Saints was shortlisted for the 2014 Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize and longlisted for the 2014 Frank O’Connor Award. Currently, her work Late Breaking is shortlisted for the Governor General’s Literary Award in the English Fiction category. She lives and writes in Toronto.

  • Carrie Snyder

    Carrie Snyder is the author of two books of short fiction. Her first, Hair Hat, was shortlisted for the Danuta Gleed Literary Award for short fiction, and her second, The Juliet Stories, was a finalist for the 2012 Governor General's Literary Award. Snyder lives in Waterloo, Ontario and blogs as Obscure CanLit Mama. She presents Girl Runner, a finalist for the 2014 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize. Part historical page-turner, part contemporary mystery, it is an engaging and endearing story about family, ambition, athletics and the dedicated pursuit of one’s passions.

  • Miriam Toews

    Miriam Toews is the author of five previous bestselling novels: Summer of My Amazing LuckA Boy of Good BreedingA Complicated Kindness (Canada Reads 2006, Canada Reads Canadian Bestseller of the Decade 2010), The Flying Troutmans, and Irma Voth, and one work of non-fiction, Swing Low: A Life.  She is a winner of the Governor General’s Award for Fiction, the Libris Award for Fiction Book of the Year, the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, and the Writers Trust Marian Engel/Timothy Findley Award. She lives in Toronto.