Saturday, November 2, 2013 - 1:00 PM
Reading: Festival

York Quay Centre - Studio Theatre

235 Queens Quay West
Toronto M5J 2G8
Cost: $18/$15 supporters/FREE students & youth 25 and under

Authors Dennis Bock, Rodge Glass, Elizabeth Ruth, Mary Swan and Michael Winter share their latest works. Hosted by Farzana Doctor.


  • Dennis Bock

    Dennis Bock

    Dennis Bock has been hailed by The Globe and Mail as “Canada’s next great novelist.” His first collection of stories, Olympia, won the Danuta Gleed Literary Award, the Canadian Authors’ Association Jubilee Award and the Betty Trask Award in the UK. The Ash Garden was a #1 bestseller and won the 2002 Canada-Japan Literary Award. Bock is a lecturer at the University of Toronto and a faculty member at Humber’s School for Writers. He presents the Giller Prize-shortlisted Going Home Again, a novel about men and women falling in and out of love, and the thin line that exists between love and violence.

  • Farzana Doctor

    Farzana Doctor is a Toronto-based author of three novels: Stealing Nasreen, Six Metres of Pavement (which in 2012 won a Lambda Literary Award and was short-listed for the Toronto Book Award and was the One Book One Brampton 2017 winner) and All Inclusive, a Kobo 2015 and National Post Best Book of the Year. She curates the Brockton Writers Series.

  • Rodge Glass

    Rodge Glass is the author of three novels, a graphic novel and a literary biography, Alasdair Gray: A Secretary’s Biography, which won the Somerset Maugham Award in 2009. He currently works as Senior Lecturer in English Literature and Creative Writing at Edge Hill University, and regularly appears at UK literary festivals and events, as well as on TV and radio. Glass presents his first collection of short stories, LoveSexTravelMusik, which insightfully explores how travel affects the lives and loves of men and women across the globe.

  • Elizabeth Ruth

    Elizabeth Ruth is the author of Ten Good Seconds of Silence, a finalist for the Rogers Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, the Best First Novel Award and the City of Toronto Book Award. Her second novel, Smoke, was chosen for the One Book, One Community program. She teaches creative writing at the University of Toronto and is currently travelling across Canada, delivering professional development workshops to writers. Ruth presents Matadora, the story of a Spanish servant girl who attempts to make her name in the bullring at a time when it was illegal for a woman to do so.

  • Mary Swan

    Mary Swan

    Mary Swan’s first novel, The Boys in the Trees, was a finalist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize and the First Novel Award. Her novella, The Deep, was a finalist for the Commonwealth Book Prize (Canada/Caribbean region) for best first book, and she was also the recipient of the 2001 O. Henry Prize for short fiction. Swan presents My Ghosts, the story of six Scottish orphans who make their way to Toronto in 1879. Their lives follow fascinating twists and turns, but the novel ends with Clare, their contemporary descendant, who is unaware of—yet deeply influenced by—the experiences of her ancestors.

  • Michael Winter

    Michael Winter is the author of numerous acclaimed novels, including The Architects are Here, which was longlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, and The Death of Donna Whalen, which was nominated for the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize and the Commonwealth Writers' Prize. He is also the recipient of the Writers' Trust Notable Author Award. Winter presents his non-fiction debut, Into the Blizzard: Walking the Fields of the Newfoundland Dead, a uniquely gripping account of the Royal Newfoundland Regiment who were all but annihilated 100 years ago during the Battle of the Somme in World War I.