Saturday, October 20, 2018 - 7:00 PM
Book Signing, Interview, Q & A, Reading: Festivals

Fleck Dance Theatre

3rd Floor, Queen's Quay Terminal
207 Queens Quay West
Toronto M5J 1A7
Cost: $18

Celebrated Jamaican author Marlon James won the 2015 Man Booker Prize for his third novel, A Brief History of Seven Killings. He will be joined onstage by other past winners and nominees–Roddy Doyle and Jane Urquhart–to discuss the impact the award has had on their lives. This event is presented in partnership with the Man Booker Prize. This event will be hosted and moderated by Lewis DeSoto.

Supported by the Booker Prize Foundation

The Booker Prize Foundation


Click below to book single tickets to this event, or click here to customize a 4-Event Package for $65.


  • Lewis DeSoto

    Lewis DeSoto’s latest novel is The Restoration ArtistHis novel, A Blade of Grass, was nominated for the Man Booker Prize, the Royal Society of Literature Ondaatje Prize and the William Saroyan International Prize. It was selected as an International Book of the Month. A Blade of Grass has been published in 12 countries and 9 languages. He is also the author of a biography of the painter Emily Carr, part of the Extraordinary Canadians series. A former editor of the Literary Review of Canada, DeSoto has published essays, short stories and book reviews in numerous journals and newspapers. An artist as well as a writer, DeSoto has exhibited his paintings across Canada.,

  • Roddy Doyle

    Roddy Doyle was born in Dublin in 1958. He is the author of 10 acclaimed novels, including The Commitments, The Van (a finalist for the Booker Prize), Paddy Clarke Ha Ha Ha (winner of the Booker Prize), The Woman Who Walked Into Doors, A Star Called Henry, The Guts and, most recently, Smile. Doyle has also written two collections of stories, and several works for children and young adults. He lives in Dublin.

  • Marlon James

    Marlon James was born in Jamaica in 1970. His most recent novel, A Brief History of Seven Killings, won the 2015 Man Booker Prize, making James the first Jamaican author to take home the United Kingdom’s most prestigious literary award. The novel also won the OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature. His forthcoming fantasy series, the Dark Star trilogy, will draw on the rich heritage of African legend and language. The first book in the series, Black Leopard, Red Wolf, is set to appear in February 2019. Marlon is the Writer in Residence at Macalester College in St. Paul, Minnesota.

  • Jane Urquhart

    Jane Urquhart is the author of eight internationally acclaimed novels, among them The Underpainter, winner of the Governor General’s Award and a finalist for The Orange Prize in the UK, and The Stone Carvers, which was a finalist for The Giller Prize and the Governor General’s Award, and for Britain’s Booker Prize.Urquhart has received the Marian Engel Award and the Harbourfront Festival Prize. She is a Chevalier dans l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres in France, and is an Officer of the Order of Canada.