Wednesday, September 24, 2014 - 7:30 PM
Author appearance, Reading: IFOA Weekly

Bill Boyle Artport - Brigantine Room

235 Queens Quay West
Toronto M5J 2G8
Cost: $10/FREE supporters, students & youth 25 and under

Join indie publisher Biblioasis for a special celebration of their 10th anniversary! Several exciting CanLit stars will be reading from their latest works, including Alexander MacLeod, John Metcalf, KD Miller, Kathy Page, Kerry-Lee Powell, Ray Robertson, Leon Rooke, Rebecca Rosenblum, Diane Schoemperlen and Kathleen Winter! Canadian author Charles Foran will host.


  • Charles Foran

    Charles Foran is an award-winning journalist and the author of 10 books, including four previous novels. His biography Mordecai: The Life and Times won the RBC Taylor Prize, the Governor General’s Award, the Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for Literary Nonfiction and the Helen and Stan Vine Canadian Jewish Book Award. Foran presents Planet Lolita. Told in the voice of a bi-racial girl and the language of social media, it is a riveting novel of desires and consequences in the unfolding digital age in Hong Kong.

  • Alexander MacLeod

    Alexander MacLeod was born in Inverness, Cape Breton and raised in Windsor, Ontario. He holds degrees from the University of Windsor, the University of Notre Dame and McGill, and currently teaches at Saint Mary’s University. MacLeod presents a reading from his celebrated first collection of stories, Light Lifting, which offers a suite of darkly urban and unflinching elegies that explore the depths of the psyche. It was a finalist for the Scotiabank Giller Prize and the Frank O'Connor International Short Story Award, and won the Atlantic Book Award.

  • John Metcalf

    John Metcalf was for 17 years the editor for the Porcupine’s Quill Press and for the last twelve years has been fiction editor for Biblioasis. He has co-edited and edited 18 volumes of Oberon Press’s Best Canadian Stories. His last fiction collection, Adult Entertainment, was a New York Times Notable Book. Forthcoming from Biblioasis are Vital Signs, The Museum at the End of the World, and an overview of the last fifty years or so of Canadian short fiction entitled The Canadian Short Story. He is currently working on a collection of essays and sketches entitled None of the Above.

  • K.D. Miller

    K.D. Miller’s short stories have been nominated for the Journey Prize, published widely in Canadian magazines and broadcast by the CBC. Her first collection, A Litany in Time of Plague, appeared in 1994. Her second collection, Give Me Your Answer, was shortlisted for the inaugural Upper Canada Brewing Company’s Writers Craft Award and named by the Toronto Star as one of the 10 best books of 1999. Her most recent work is All Saints, a collection of linked short stories praised by Maclean's as "a Canadian classic" and shortlisted for the 2014 Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize.  

  • Kathy Page

    Kathy Page is the author of seven novels, including The Story of My Face, longlisted for the Orange Prize, and Alphabet, a finalist for the Governor General’s Literary Award for English-language Fiction. She is the co-editor of In the Flesh, an anthology of personal essays about the human body, and has written for radio and television. Her short stories have appeared in magazines and journals in Canada and the UK, and are collected in Paradise & Elsewhere, from which she will be reading. Departing from literary realism, the stories reveal Page as a skilled fabulist while maintaining her recurring themes of “loss, survival and transformation.”

  • Ray Robertson

    Ray Robertson is the author of the novels Home Movies, Heroes, Moody Food, Gently Down the Stream, What Happened Later, David, I Was There the Night He Died, and 1979, as well as three books of non-fiction, Mental Hygiene: Essays on Writers and Writing, Why Not? Fifteen Reasons to Live, and Lives of the Poets (with Guitars).  His work has been translated into several languages.  Born and raised in Southwestern Ontario, he lives in Toronto.

  • Leon Rooke

    Leon Rooke is a novelist, short story writer, playwright, editor and critic who has published over 30 books. He was born in rural North Carolina, but has been a resident of Canada for many years. Rooke is the recipient of numerous awards and honours, including the Canada-Australia Literary Prize, the Governor General's Literary Award for English-language Fiction for Shakespeare’s Dog and the North Carolina Award for Literature. Rooke presents Hitting the Charts, a collection of short stories that go as far back as 1980, offering up the full range of his voice and accomplishment.

  • Rebecca Rosenblum

    Rebecca Rosenblum is the author of two acclaimed books of fiction, The Big Dream and Once, winner of the Metcalf-Rooke Award and named one of Quill and Quire's 15 Books That Mattered in 2008. So Much Love is her first novel. Her fiction has been shortlisted for the Journey Prize, the National Magazine Awards, and the Danuta Gleed Award, and has appeared in the National PostExile Quarterly, The Antigonish ReviewThe New QuarterlyThe Journey Prize StoriesMaisonneuveComing Attractions, and Best Canadian Stories. She holds an Honours English degree from McGill, a publishing certificate from Ryerson, and a Master's of English and Creative Writing from the University of Toronto. She lives in Toronto.

  • Diane Schoemperlen

    Diane Schoemperlen has published several critically acclaimed collections of short fiction and three novels. Her collection Forms of Devotion: Stories and Pictures won the 1998 Governor-General’s Award for English Fiction, and her 2014 collection, By the Book: Stories and Pictures was compared to the works of Lydia Davis, David Markson and Padgett Powell by The New York Times Sunday Book Review. Her book, This Is Not My Life: A Memoir of Love, Prison, and Other Complications was shortlisted for the 2017 RBC Taylor Prize. She is currently on the faculty of the Humber School of Writing Correspondence Program. She lives in Kingston, Ontario. She presents First Things First: Early and Uncollected Fictions.

  • Kathleen Winter

    Kathleen Winter’s  novel, Annabel, was shortlisted for the Scotiabank Giller Prize, the Governor General's Literary Award, the Rogers Writers' Trust Fiction Prize, the First Novel Award, the Orange Prize, and numerous other awards. It was also a Globe and Mail "Best Book," a New York Times "Notable" book, a Quill & Quire "Book of the Year" and #1 bestseller in Canada. It has been published and translated worldwide. Her Arctic memoir Boundless (2014) was shortlisted for Canada's Weston and Taylor non-fiction prizes, and has been sold internationally. Born in the UK, Winter lives in Montreal after many years in Newfoundland. She presents Lost In September.